Skip to main content


On 28th May 2016, the Holy Father, Pope Francis nominated bishop of the diocese of Mutare, in Zimbabwe, Fr.

Archbishop João José da Costa, O. Carm

On the 5th of November, Pope Francis appointed João José da Costa, O.Carm. to be the Coadjutor bishop of the Archdiocese of Aracaju (Brazil). Bishop João Costa, who up to now has been the Bishop of Iguatu, is a member of the province of Pernambuco (Brazil), where he was the Prior Provincial from 1998 to 2004. In union with the whole Carmelite Order and the Carmelite Family, we send him our congratulations and best wishes, as we unite in prayer for his ministry.

Bishop Francisco de Sales Alencar Batista

Fr. Francesco Sales was born on April 17, 1968 in Araripina, Pernambuco, Brazil and a member of the Carmelite Province of Pernambuco. He made his profession in the Carmelite Order in 1988 and was ordained a priest in 1995. He studied philosophy at the Vincentino Institute of Philosophy

Bishop Wilmar Santin, O. Carm.

Prelate of Itaituba, Para

The Carmelite Order is delighted to announce today, 8th December 2010, that the Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI has nominated bishop of the Territorial Prelature of Itaituba, in Brazil, Fr. Wilmar Santin O.Carm., of the Commissariat of Paraná of the Upper German Province.

Archbishop Antônio Muniz Fernandes, O. Carm.

Archbishop of Maceió, Alagoas

Pope Benedict XVI has named Bishop Antônio Muniz Fernandes, O. Carm., currently Bishop of Guarabira, as the new Archbishop of Maceió in Brazil. This followed the pope’s acceptance of the resignation of Archbishop José Carlos Melo, C.M., because of age.

Bishop Filippo Iannone, O. Carm.

Vicegerent of the Diocese of Rome, Italy

The Holy Father, Benedict XVI, on Jannuary 31st, 2012 has nominated to one of the most senior positions in the Diocese of Rome, Italy, His Excellency Bishop Filippo Iannone, O.Carm. (Brun), who up until now has been Bishop of the Diocese of Sora-Aquino-Pontecorvo.  He has been bishop there since the 19th June 2009. Together with this new office, the Pope has conferred on him the title of Archbishop.



As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister."