Skip to Content

General Commissions


The General Council of 2013-2019 has finished its first plenary session in Rome setting out a plan for the next six years implementing the decisions made by the General Chapter held in Sassone in September 2013. Members for General Commissions are also invited into these offices:

Communication Commission

  • Christian Körner (praeses)
  • Sebastian Benchea (Ita)
  • Joseph Hung Tran (SEL)
  • Raúl Maraví Cabrera (PCM)

Evangelization and Mission Commission

  • John Keating (praeses)
  • Sanny Bruijns (T.O.C. - Neer)
  • Francisco de Sales Alencar Batista (Pern)
  • Desiderio García Martínez (Arag-Cast)
  • Conrad Mutizamhepo (Hib-Zimb)
  • Micheal O’Neill (Hib)
  • Donna Orsuto
  • Henricus Pidyarto Gunawan (Indo.)
  • Klaus Schenkelberger (Gal)

Liturgy and Prayer Task Force

  • Francisco de Sales Alencar Batista (praeses)
  • Edmondo Caruana (Mel)
  • Mario Esposito (SEL)
  • Michael Farrugia  (Mel)
  • Giovanni Grosso (Ita)
  • Robert Manik (Indo) 
  • Giuseppe Midili (Ita)

Finance Commission

  • Carl Markelz (praeses)
  • Albert Anuszewski, OSST
  • Günter Benker (Ger)
  • Christian Buenafe (Phil)
  • Fintan Burke (Hib)
  • Anna De Giglio
  • Alfredo Di Cerbo (Brun)
  • Michael Kissane (SEL)

Formation Commission

  • Benny Phang Khong Wing (praeses)
  • Roberto Noel Rosas (Phil)
  • Quinn Conners (PCM)       
  • Desiderio García Martínez (Arag-Cast)
  • Barnabas Krispinus Ginting (Indo)
  • Giampiero Molinari (Ita)
  • Onesmus Muthoka (Cat-Kenya)
  • Albeiro Luis Romero Martínez (Ita-Col)
  • Wayne Stanhope (Aus)
  • Jose Alex Valavanattu (Ind)

Justice, Peace and the Integrity of Creation Commission

  • Conrad Mutizamhepo (praeses)
  • Hariawan Adji (Indo)
  • Eduardo Agosta Scarel (Arag-Cast)
  • Florentio Dundji Dhenyi (Ita-RDC)
  • Charles Hoey (Hib)
  • Ester Martin
  • Sr. Theresa Nyadombo (HLMC)
  • Sr. Jane Ramson (O.Carm.-NGO)
  • Mark Zittle (SEL)

Laity Commission

  • Raúl Maraví Cabrera (praeses)
  • José Araújo Filho (Pern)
  • Michele Bonanno (T.O.C.-Ita)
  • Joseph Hung Tran (SEL)
  • Tote García de la Barrera 
  • Normita Lacanilao (T.O.C.-Phil)
  • Juan Luis Laghi
  • Désiré Unen Alimange (Ita-RDC)
  • Jennifer Wanjiku (T.O.C.-Ken)

Carmelite Schools Task Force

  • Raúl Maraví Cabrera(praeses)
  • Visitación Baz (HVMMC)
  • Xavier Domingo Garmón (Cat)
  • Albertus Herwanta (Indo)
  • Paul Horan (Hib)
  • Tony Mazurkiewicz (PCM)

Nuns and Sisters Commission

  • Mario Alfarano (praeses)
  • sr. Liliana Campos Rosa (ANT)
  • sr. Marianna Caprio (VET)
  • Paul Denault (SEL)
  • sr. Inés Carmona Ortiz (TRU)
  • sr. M. Pilar Simon i Blasco (BAR)
  • sr. Elena Tolentino Zarzuela (BUR)

Revision of the Constitutions 1995 Commission

  • Michael Farrugia (praeses)
  • Mario Alfarano (Neap)
  • Vicente Aranda Guillén (Arag-Cast)
  • Günter Benker (Ger)
  • Dariusz Borek (Pol)
  • Charlò Camilleri (Mel)
  • Joseph Chalmers (Brit)
  • Quinn Conners (PCM)
  • Jean Marie D’Undji (Ita-RDC)
  • Desiderio García Martínez (Arag-Cast)
  • Giovanni Grosso (Ita)
  • John Keating (Hib)
  • Christian Körner (Ger)
  • Alberto Neglia (Ita)
  • Michael Plattig (Ger)
  • Claudemir Rozin (Par)
  • Edison Tinambunan (Indo)
  • Alexander Vella (Mel)
As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister." 


ocarmpage | by Dr. Radut