Skip to main content

Province of Italy

The Italian Province of Carmelites is a union of four former provinces in Italy, namely: the Province of Sicily (the first Province of the Order in the west, founded in the XIII century), the Province of Tuscany (founded in the second half of the XIII century), the Roman Province (which became independent from that of Tuscany in 1333)

and the General Commissariat of Northern Italy (erected in 1952, having separated from Tuscany in 1947). The process of unification took about 20 years. During the General Chapter of 1971, and those of 1977 and 1983, closer co-operation between the Carmelite Provinces and the unification of those smaller and closer to one another was encouraged.

It was in 1982, after much consultation among the brethren concerned, that the Provinces of Rome, Tuscany and the Commissariat of Northern Italy came together to form the "Centre-North Federation" in order to cooperate more fully in the areas of formation, vocations, communications and publications. In 1987 the Province of Sicily joined this federation, which from then on was called "The Federation of Italian Provinces".

In the following years it was decided to plan for unification and finally, on 31 May 1989, the process of unification was declared complete by a decree of the Prior General of the Carmelite Order. The next step was to organise the first Chapter of the new Province, and after meetings, general assemblies of the religious involved, commissions (both exploratory and preparatory), the first Provincial Chapter was held on 10-15 June 1991 at Sassone (Rome). At this Chapter Fr. Tiberio Scorrano was elected Provincial.

At present the Province of Italy has about 200 religious working in Italy, Congo, France, Cameroon, Romania and Colombia.


For further information: Province of Italy

Provincial Office:
Basilica Parrocchiale
San Martino ai Monti
Viale Monte Oppio, 28
00184 ROMA
Tel. 06-4784701
Fax 06-4747065



As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister."