Skip to Content

Houses Under General Curia, Provinces, General Commissariats, General Delegations, Hermitical Communities

Hermitical Communities


The Hermits are a community of men called to a life of silence, solitude, prayer, and penance for the good of the Church and the salvation of the world. The hermits live in a Laura, a colony of Hermits living in separate dwellings around a central chapel, following the original Carmelite rule.

General Delegation - Introduction


§1. In addition to Provinces and General Commissariats,  the General Chapter, and outside the Chapter, the Prior General with the consent of his Council, and after hearing the views of those concerned, may erect General Delegations, by establishing in autonomous entities religious originating from one or more provinces.

General Commissariats


Where there is the hope that a new Province of the Order might be founded in future, and where there are at least three canonically established houses and thirty solemnly professed members, the Prior General, with the consent of his Council, following a careful examination of the situation and having consulted the Prior Provincial and his Council as well members concerned, can found a General Commissariat.

Province - Introduction


The Province is the basic unit of the life and activity of the Order. It consists of the friars who belong to it, gathered in several houses and governed by a Prior Provincial with his Council, in accordance with the norms of canon law and with the Order's own laws (Carmelite Constitutions 179). At this moment the Carmelite Order has 20 Provinces in the world.

General Delegation of st. Thérèse of the Child Jesus and St. Albert of Jerusalem of the Indian Carmelites of the Latin Rite


In December 2006 the Prior General of the Carmelite Order, Fr. Joseph Chalmers, received a request from a group of Discalced Carmelites of the Latin Rite in India who wished to pass over to our Order. Following a careful evaluation with the General Council of the reasons for the request,

Province of Aragon, Castile and Valencia


“‘See, I am making all things new.’ (Rev 21:5)

From the 29 of April to the 1 of May, 2014 the first Provincial Chapter of the new Province of  "Aragon, Castile and Valencia", erected by the Prior General on October 15, 2013, was held in the convent of St. Andrew of Salamanca.

General Commissariat Paraná


The history of the Carmelites in Paraná begins with the history of Ulrich Goevert, a member of the Upper German Province. He went to Brazil in 1936, and joined up with the work of the Carmelites in the Northeast. After fifteen years he set out from there to begin a mission of his own in line with a project of his province that took shape in Paranavaí.

German Province


On the 1st of January 2013, the provinces of Upper and Lower Germany, after many years of intense cooperation, especially in the field of formation, and after a processof preparation that involved numerous meetings, were united into one German Province. This decision was the result of the desire of the German Carmelites

Surprising Revival for Men in Religious Life


Overall numbers are down, but new communities continue to emerge.

CHRISTOVAL, Texas — Father Fabian Rosetti had a dream. The Cuba-born Carmelite wanted to build a hermitage on land that would provide monks with the necessary isolation they needed.

He found a suitable tract in central Texas, but the man who owned it made it clear that he was not willing to help.

General Delegation of Kenya


On July 16, the Solemn Commemoration of our Lady of Mount Carmel, in our house in Nairobi (Bustani ya Karmeli), the Prior General, accompanied by the Councillor for Africa, Fr. Désiré Unen Alimange, consigned the decree of canonical erection of the General Delegation of Kenya, which will be under the patronage of Our Lady of Carmel.

Syndicate content
As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister." 


by Dr. Radut